Just Get Started Already!

One of my favorite things I’ve read recently was called Do the Work! Overcome Resistance and Get Out of Your Own Way by Steven Pressfield.  The thing he said that really jumped out at me was: “Don’t prepare. Begin. Remember, our enemy is not lack of preparation: it’s not the difficulty of the project or the state of the marketplace or the emptiness of our bank account. The enemy is resistance. The enemy is our chattering brain, which, if we give it so much as a nanosecond, will start producing excuses, alibis, transparent self-justifications, and a million reasons why we can’t/shouldn’t/won’t do what we need to do. Start before you’re ready.”

So, as I’m trying to stop reading the instruction books and blogs, cleaning the studio, and just generally procrastinating, I’m also noticing how my brain says, “There’s not enough time, that’s too much work, I should just get a real job, no one wants to read what I write, I have nothing to say, what I write sounds silly, I can’t make art…” I’m doing my best to ignore those thoughts, move past the resistance and keep posting. Next up, get out the supplies and MAKE SOMETHING!

Leave a Reply

